Pen to Paper

25 March 2016

I am finally putting pen to paper (or more like fingers to keyboard) to get around starting this blog…thank you Good Friday and long weekend.

Quick snapshot of me so far – I’m a city girl who moved to a country town less than a year ago and I am adjusting to the clean country air. Hubs and I have been married 5 years and we have been trying to conceive for nearly a year and a half.

Lets just get straight into it – this blog was meant to be about my adjustment to the country life and adjusting to the very different work life but the last few months have been more about my infertility journey. This week I had a blood test each day and two ultrasounds..its only Friday. I have never had this much medical excitement since…well ever!

We started our first ovulation stimulation cycle this month. I took clomid from days 3 – 7 and luckily the side effects were not too bad for me. First blood test was on Tuesday…then another the next…and again…and again this morning. Throw in two ultrasounds and this was as exciting as my weeks have gotten.

I went into the city clinic this morning and it was soooo nice….don’t get me wrong, the nurses who have been taking my bloods in the country (I have to go to an external pathology to get this done in the country) have been really lovely, but it is so different in the city. My sonographer explained in detail what she saw and why she thinks I may of had to have another ultrasound so soon. I have a large follicle on my right measuring 23mm and the endometrium lining looked good as well. She went to check my left and there was another large follicle 20mm. She wasn’t sure what my fs would say but not to lose hope just yet.

I then went to go and get my hair done to try and ‘relax’ and ‘not think about it’. The nurses called me early this afternoon and said everything is a go and my fs is happy for me to bd today and tomorrow and monday for safe measure. It is a bit of a weird concept that someone is giving me the all clear to go and have sex with my husband, but I guess they deal with this all the time. Oh, she also mentioned that there are the two large follicles and to mindful that there is a small chance that I could have twins….hmmm. Hubs and I have always joked about having twins. My paternal grandmother was a twin, so I suppose there is always a very small chance. I’m not sure what he would do if we did have twins. I always entertained the idea as it would be so cute, but I have seen close friends and family deal with their first babies and that is already a handful, let alone two at the same time! Anyway, lets not get too far ahead of ourselves just yet. Lets see how this cycle pans out first. I don’t want to get my hopes up only to have them crushed down, this journey so far has been one heck of an emotional roller coaster and I am not an emotional person, but this experience has certainly changed that.

Leave a comment